Boot Linux faster!

Check our new training course

Boot Linux faster!

Check our new training course
and Creative Commons CC-BY-SA
lecture and lab materials

Bootlin logo

Elixir Cross Referencer

  1
  2
  3
  4
  5
  6
  7
  8
  9
 10
 11
 12
 13
 14
 15
 16
 17
 18
 19
 20
 21
 22
 23
 24
 25
 26
 27
 28
 29
 30
 31
 32
 33
 34
 35
 36
 37
 38
 39
 40
 41
 42
 43
 44
 45
 46
 47
 48
 49
 50
 51
 52
 53
 54
 55
 56
 57
 58
 59
 60
 61
 62
 63
 64
 65
 66
 67
 68
 69
 70
 71
 72
 73
 74
 75
 76
 77
 78
 79
 80
 81
 82
 83
 84
 85
 86
 87
 88
 89
 90
 91
 92
 93
 94
 95
 96
 97
 98
 99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194
195
196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225
226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233
234
235
236
237
238
239
240
241
242
243
244
245
246
247
248
249
250
251
252
253
254
255
256
257
258
259
260
261
262
263
264
265
266
267
268
269
270
271
272
273
274
275
276
277
278
279
280
281
282
283
284
285
286
287
288
289
290
291
292
293
294
295
296
297
298
299
300
301
302
303
304
305
306
307
308
309
310
311
312
313
314
315
316
317
318
319
320
321
322
323
324
325
326
327
328
329
330
331
332
333
334
335
336
337
338
339
340
341
342
343
344
345
346
347
348
349
350
351
352
353
354
355
356
357
358
359
360
361
362
363
364
365
366
367
368
369
370
371
372
373
374
375
376
377
378
379
380
381
382
383
384
385
386
387
388
389
390
391
392
393
394
395
396
397
398
399
400
401
402
403
404
405
406
407
408
409
410
411
412
413
414
415
416
417
418
419
420
421
422
423
424
425
426
427
428
429
430
431
432
433
434
435
436
437
438
439
440
441
	List of maintainers and how to submit kernel changes

Please try to follow the guidelines below.  This will make things
easier on the maintainers.  Not all of these guidelines matter for every
trivial patch so apply some common sense.

1.	Always _test_ your changes, however small, on at least 4 or
	5 people, preferably many more.

2.	Try to release a few ALPHA test versions to the net. Announce
	them onto the kernel channel and await results. This is especially
	important for device drivers, because often that's the only way
	you will find things like the fact version 3 firmware needs
	a magic fix you didn't know about, or some clown changed the
	chips on a board and not its name.  (Don't laugh!  Look at the
	SMC etherpower for that.)

3.	Make sure your changes compile correctly in multiple
	configurations.

4.	When you are happy with a change make it generally available for
	testing and await feedback.

5.	Make a patch available to the relevant maintainer in the list. Use
	'diff -u' to make the patch easy to merge. Be prepared to get your
	changes sent back with seemingly silly requests about formatting
	and variable names.  These aren't as silly as they seem. One
	job the maintainers (and especially Linus) do is to keep things
	looking the same. Sometimes this means that the clever hack in
	your driver to get around a problem actual needs to become a
	generalised kernel feature ready for next time.

	PLEASE try to include any credit lines you want added with the
	patch. It avoids people being missed off by mistake and makes
	it easier to know who wants adding and who doesn't.

	PLEASE document known bugs. If it doesn't work for everything
	or does something very odd once a month document it.

6.	Make sure you have the right to send any changes you make. If you
	do changes at work you may find your employer owns the patch
	not you.

7.	Happy hacking.


[This file is new: I've just put the existing network contacts in, other
 people please add yourselves] -- AC

		-----------------------------------

Maintainers List (try to look for most precise areas first)

P: Person
M: Mail patches to
L: Mailing list that is relevant to this area
W: Web-page with status/info
S: Status, one of the following:

	Supported:	Someone is actually paid to look after this (wildly
			improbable).
	Maintained:	Someone actually looks after it.
	Odd Fixes:	It has a maintainer but they don't have time to do
			much other than throw the odd patch in. See below..
	Orphan:		No current maintainer [but maybe you could take the 
			role as you write your new code].
	Obsolete:	Old code. Something tagged obsolete generally means
			it has been replaced by a better system and you
			should be using that.

EXT2 FILE SYSTEM
P:	Remy Card
M:	Remy.Card@linux.org
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

3C501 NETWORK DRIVER
P:	Alan Cox
M:	net-patches@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

8390 NETWORK DRIVERS [WD80x3/SMC-ELITE, SMC-ULTRA, NE2000, 3C503, etc.]
P:	Paul Gortmaker
M:	gpg109@rsphy1.anu.edu.au
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

ETHEREXPRESS-16 NETWORK DRIVER
P:	Philip Blundell
M:	pjb27@cam.ac.uk
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

3C505 NETWORK DRIVER
P:	Philip Blundell
M:	phil@tazenda.demon.co.uk
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

TLAN NETWORK DRIVER
P:	James Banks
M:	james.banks@caldera.com
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Supported

DIGI RIGHTSWITCH NETWORK DRIVER
P:	Rick Richardson
M:	rick@dgii.com
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
W:	http://www.dgii.com/linux/
S:	Maintained

WAVELAN NETWORK DRIVER & WIRELESS EXTENSIONS
P:	Jean Tourrilhes
M:	jt@hplb.hpl.hp.com
S:	Maintained

TOKEN-RING NETWORK DRIVER
P:      Paul Norton
M:      pnorton@cts.com
L:      linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:      Maintained

APM DRIVER
P:	Rik Faith & Stephen Rothwell
M:	faith@cs.unc.edu, Stephen.Rothwell@canb.auug.org.au
L:	linux-laptop@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

APPLETALK NETWORK LAYER
P:	Alan Cox & University Of Michigan
M:	net-patches@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk, Cc: netatalk@umich.edu
L:	[Someone fill in the netatalk list here]
S:	Maintained

AX.25 NETWORK LAYER
P:	Jon Naylor
M:	jsn@cs.nott.ac.uk
L:	linux-hams@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

IP MASQUERADING (IPV4)
P:	Nigel Metheringham
M:	Nigel.Metheringham@ThePLAnet.net
L:	masq@indyramp.com
S:	Maintained

AX.25 DAMA SLAVE
P:	Joerg Reuter
M:	jreuter@poboxes.com
L:	linux-hams@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

Z8530 SCC DRIVER FOR AX.25
P:	Joerg Reuter
M:	jreuter@poboxes.com
L:	linux-hams@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

BUSLOGIC SCSI DRIVER
P:	Leonard N. Zubkoff
M:	Leonard N. Zubkoff <lnz@dandelion.com>
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

CYCLADES ASYNC MUX DRIVER
P:	Marcio Saito
M:	Marcio Saito <marcio@cyclades.com>
W:	http://www.cyclades.com/
S:	Supported

EATA ISA/EISA/PCI SCSI DRIVER
P:	Dario Ballabio
M:	dario@milano.europe.dg.com
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

U14-34F SCSI DRIVER
P:	Dario Ballabio
M:	dario@milano.europe.dg.com
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

EATA-DMA SCSI DRIVER
P:	Michael Neuffer
M:	mike@i-Connect.Net
L:	linux-eata@i-connect.net, linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

EATA-PIO SCSI DRIVER
P:	Michael Neuffer
M:	mike@i-Connect.Net
L:	linux-eata@i-connect.net, linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

FILE LOCKING (flock() and fcntl()/lockf())
P:	Andy Walker
M:	andy@lysaker.kvaerner.no
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

FRAME RELAY DLCI/FRAD (Sangoma drivers too)
P:	Mike McLagan
M:	mike.mclagan@linux.org
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

FUTURE DOMAIN TMC-16x0 SCSI DRIVER (16-bit)
P:	Rik Faith
M:	faith@cs.unc.edu
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Odd fixes (e.g., new signatures)

SCSI TAPE DRIVER
P:	Kai Mäkisara
M:	Kai.Makisara@metla.fi
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

FTAPE/QIC-117:
P:	Claus-Justus Heine
M:	claus@momo.math.rwth-aachen.de
L:	linux-tape@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

IPX NETWORK LAYER
P:	Alan Cox [for the moment]
M:	net-patches@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk
L:	linux-ipx@vger.rutgers.edu [will change]
S:	Maintained

IDE DRIVER [GENERAL]
P:	Mark Lord
M:	mlord@pobox.com
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

IDE/ATAPI CDROM DRIVER 
P:	Erik Andersen
M:	andersee@debian.org
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

IDE/ATAPI TAPE/FLOPPY DRIVERS
P:	Gadi Oxman
M:	Gadi Oxman <gadio@netvision.net.il>
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

ISDN SUBSYSTEM
P:	Fritz Elfert
M:	fritz@wuemaus.franken.de
L:	isdn4linux@hub-wue.franken.de
S:	Maintained

MODULE SUPPORT [GENERAL], KERNELD
P:	Bjorn Ekwall
M:	bj0rn@blox.se
W:	http://www.pi.se/blox/modules/
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

ARPD SUPPORT
P:	Jonathan Layes
M:	layes@loran.com
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

NCP FILESYSTEM:
P:	Volker Lendecke
M:	lendecke@namu01.Num.Math.Uni-Goettingen.de
L:	linware@sh.cvut.cz
S:	Maintained

NETROM NETWORK LAYER
P:	Jon Naylor
M:	jsn@cs.nott.ac.uk
L:	linux-hams@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

NETWORKING [GENERAL]:
P:	Alan Cox
M:	net-patches@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Odd Fixes <-> Maintained subject to workloads

PPP PROTOCOL DRIVERS AND COMPRESSORS
P:	Al Longyear
M:	longyear@netcom.com, Cc: longyear@sii.com
L:	linux-ppp@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

REAL TIME CLOCK DRIVER
P:	Paul Gortmaker
M	gpg109@rsphy1.anu.edu.au
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

STARMODE RADIO IP (STRIP) PROTOCOL DRIVER
P:	Stuart Cheshire
M:	cheshire@cs.stanford.edu
W:	http://mosquitonet.Stanford.EDU/strip.html
S:	Maintained

SMB FILESYSTEM:
P:	Volker Lendecke
M:	lendecke@namu01.Num.Math.Uni-Goettingen.de
L:	samba@listproc.anu.edu.au
S:	Odd Fixes

SMP: (except SPARC)
P:	Alan Cox
M:	smp-patches@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk
L:	linux-smp@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

SPARC:
P:	David S. Miller
M:	davem@caip.rutgers.edu
L:	sparclinux@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

SCSI SUBSYSTEM
P:	Leonard N. Zubkoff
M:	Leonard N. Zubkoff <lnz@dandelion.com>
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

SVGA HANDLING:
P:	Martin Mares
M:	mj@k332.feld.cvut.cz
L:	linux-video@atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz
S:	Maintained

VFAT FILESYSTEM:
P:	Gordon Chaffee
M:	chaffee@plateau.cs.berkeley.edu
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
W:	http://www-plateau.cs.berkeley.edu/people/chaffee
S:	Maintained

DIGIBOARD DRIVER:
P:	Christoph Lameter
M:	clameter@fuller.edu
L:	digiboard@list.fuller.edu
S:	Maintained

RISCOM8 DRIVER:
P:	Dmitry Gorodchanin
M:	pgmdsg@ibi.com
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

SPECIALIX IO8+ MULTIPORT SERIAL CARD DRIVER
P:	Roger Wolff
M:	R.E.Wolff@BitWizard.nl
M:	io8-linux@specialix.co.uk
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu ?
S:	Supported

MOUSE AND MISC DEVICES [GENERAL]
P:	Alessandro Rubini
M:	rubini@ipvvis.unipv.it
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

MENUCONFIG:
P:	William Roadcap
M:	roadcapw@titus.org
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

LANCE AND LANCE32 NETWORK DRIVER
P:	Thomas Bogendoerfer
M:	tsbogend@bigbug.franken.de
L:	linux-net@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

ADVANSYS SCSI DRIVER
P:	Bob Frey
M:	Bob Frey <bobf@advansys.com>
W:	http://www.advansys.com/linux
S:	Maintained

AHA152X SCSI DRIVER
P:	Juergen E. Fischer
M:	Juergen Fischer <fischer@et-inf.fho-emden.de>
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

GSCD CDROM DRIVER
P:	Oliver Raupach
M:	oliver@mm.gop.de
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

SBPCD CDROM DRIVER
P:	Eberhard Moenkeberg
M:	emoenke@gwdg.de
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

NON-IDE/NON-SCSI CDROM DRIVERS [GENERAL] (come on, crew - mark your responsibility)
P:	Eberhard Moenkeberg
M:	emoenke@gwdg.de
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

FPU EMULATOR
P:	Bill Metzenthen
M:	billm@suburbia.net
W:	http://suburbia.net/~billm/floating-point/emulator/
S:	Maintained

CREDITS FILE
P:	John A. Martin
M:	jam@acm.org
S:	Maintained

KERNEL AUTOMOUNTER (AUTOFS)
P:	H. Peter Anvin
M:	hpa@zytor.com
L:	autofs@linux.kernel.org
S:	Maintained

DEVICE NUMBER REGISTRY
P:	H. Peter Anvin
M:	hpa@zytor.com
L:	linux-kernel@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

WD7000 SCSI DRIVER
P:	Miroslav Zagorac
M:	zaga@fly.cc.fer.hr
L:	linux-scsi@vger.rutgers.edu
S:	Maintained

REST:
P:	Linus Torvalds
S:	Buried alive in email