Linux preempt-rt

Check our new training course

Real-Time Linux with PREEMPT_RT

Check our new training course
with Creative Commons CC-BY-SA
lecture and lab materials

Bootlin logo

Elixir Cross Referencer

=head1 LIBC NSS

GNU Libc (glibc) uses the Name Service Switch (NSS) to configure the behavior
of the C library for the local environment, and to configure how it reads
system data, such as passwords and group information.  This is implemented
using an /etc/nsswitch.conf configuration file, and using one or more of the
/lib/libnss_* libraries.  BusyBox tries to avoid using any libc calls that make
use of NSS.  Some applets however, such as login and su, will use libc functions
that require NSS.

If you enable CONFIG_USE_BB_PWD_GRP, BusyBox will use internal functions to
directly access the /etc/passwd, /etc/group, and /etc/shadow files without
using NSS.  This may allow you to run your system without the need for
installing any of the NSS configuration files and libraries.

When used with glibc, the BusyBox 'networking' applets will similarly require
that you install at least some of the glibc NSS stuff (in particular,
/etc/nsswitch.conf, /lib/libnss_dns*, /lib/libnss_files*, and /lib/libresolv*).

Shameless Plug: As an alternative, one could use a C library such as uClibc.  In
addition to making your system significantly smaller, uClibc does not require the
use of any NSS support files or libraries.

=head1 MAINTAINER

Denis Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>

=head1 AUTHORS

The following people have contributed code to BusyBox whether they know it or
not.  If you have written code included in BusyBox, you should probably be
listed here so you can obtain your bit of eternal glory.  If you should be
listed here, or the description of what you have done needs more detail, or is
incorrect, please send in an update.


=for html <br>

Emanuele Aina <emanuele.aina@tiscali.it>

    run-parts

=for html <br>

Erik Andersen <andersen@codepoet.org>

    Tons of new stuff, major rewrite of most of the
    core apps, tons of new apps as noted in header files.
    Lots of tedious effort writing these boring docs that
    nobody is going to actually read.

=for html <br>

Laurence Anderson <l.d.anderson@warwick.ac.uk>

    rpm2cpio, unzip, get_header_cpio, read_gz interface, rpm

=for html <br>

Jeff Angielski <jeff@theptrgroup.com>

    ftpput, ftpget

=for html <br>

Edward Betts <edward@debian.org>

    expr, hostid, logname, whoami

=for html <br>

John Beppu <beppu@codepoet.org>

    du, nslookup, sort

=for html <br>

Brian Candler <B.Candler@pobox.com>

    tiny-ls(ls)

=for html <br>

Randolph Chung <tausq@debian.org>

    fbset, ping, hostname

=for html <br>

Dave Cinege <dcinege@psychosis.com>

    more(v2), makedevs, dutmp, modularization, auto links file,
    various fixes, Linux Router Project maintenance

=for html <br>

Jordan Crouse <jordan@cosmicpenguin.net>

    ipcalc

=for html <br>

Magnus Damm <damm@opensource.se>

    tftp client insmod powerpc support

=for html <br>

Larry Doolittle <ldoolitt@recycle.lbl.gov>

    pristine source directory compilation, lots of patches and fixes.

=for html <br>

Glenn Engel <glenne@engel.org>

    httpd

=for html <br>

Gennady Feldman <gfeldman@gena01.com>

    Sysklogd (single threaded syslogd, IPC Circular buffer support,
    logread), various fixes.

=for html <br>

Karl M. Hegbloom <karlheg@debian.org>

    cp_mv.c, the test suite, various fixes to utility.c, &c.

=for html <br>

Daniel Jacobowitz <dan@debian.org>

    mktemp.c

=for html <br>

Matt Kraai <kraai@alumni.cmu.edu>

    documentation, bugfixes, test suite

=for html <br>

Stephan Linz <linz@li-pro.net>

    ipcalc, Red Hat equivalence

=for html <br>

John Lombardo <john@deltanet.com>

    tr

=for html <br>

Glenn McGrath <bug1@iinet.net.au>

    Common unarchiving code and unarchiving applets, ifupdown, ftpgetput,
    nameif, sed, patch, fold, install, uudecode.
    Various bugfixes, review and apply numerous patches.

=for html <br>

Manuel Novoa III <mjn3@codepoet.org>

    cat, head, mkfifo, mknod, rmdir, sleep, tee, tty, uniq, usleep, wc, yes,
    mesg, vconfig, make_directory, parse_mode, dirname, mode_string,
    get_last_path_component, simplify_path, and a number trivial libbb routines

    also bug fixes, partial rewrites, and size optimizations in
    ash, basename, cal, cmp, cp, df, du, echo, env, ln, logname, md5sum, mkdir,
    mv, realpath, rm, sort, tail, touch, uname, watch, arith, human_readable,
    interface, dutmp, ifconfig, route

=for html <br>

Vladimir Oleynik <dzo@simtreas.ru>

    cmdedit; xargs(current), httpd(current);
    ports: ash, crond, fdisk, inetd, stty, traceroute, top;
    locale, various fixes
    and irreconcilable critic of everything not perfect.

=for html <br>

Bruce Perens <bruce@pixar.com>

    Original author of BusyBox in 1995, 1996. Some of his code can
    still be found hiding here and there...

=for html <br>

Tim Riker <Tim@Rikers.org>

    bug fixes, member of fan club

=for html <br>

Kent Robotti <robotti@metconnect.com>

    reset, tons and tons of bug reports and patches.

=for html <br>

Chip Rosenthal <chip@unicom.com>, <crosenth@covad.com>

    wget - Contributed by permission of Covad Communications

=for html <br>

Pavel Roskin <proski@gnu.org>

    Lots of bugs fixes and patches.

=for html <br>

Gyepi Sam <gyepi@praxis-sw.com>

    Remote logging feature for syslogd

=for html <br>

Linus Torvalds <torvalds@transmeta.com>

    mkswap, fsck.minix, mkfs.minix

=for html <br>

Mark Whitley <markw@codepoet.org>

    grep, sed, cut, xargs(previous),
    style-guide, new-applet-HOWTO, bug fixes, etc.

=for html <br>

Charles P. Wright <cpwright@villagenet.com>

    gzip, mini-netcat(nc)

=for html <br>

Enrique Zanardi <ezanardi@ull.es>

    tarcat (since removed), loadkmap, various fixes, Debian maintenance

=for html <br>

Tito Ragusa <farmatito@tiscali.it>

    devfsd and size optimizations in strings, openvt and deallocvt.

=for html <br>

Paul Fox <pgf@foxharp.boston.ma.us>

    vi editing mode for ash, various other patches/fixes

=for html <br>

Roberto A. Foglietta <me@roberto.foglietta.name>

    port: dnsd

=for html <br>

Bernhard Reutner-Fischer <rep.dot.nop@gmail.com>

    misc

=for html <br>

Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>

    initial e2fsprogs, printenv, setarch, sum, misc

=for html <br>

Jie Zhang <jie.zhang@analog.com>

    fixed two bugs in msh and hush (exitcode of killed processes)

=cut